2015 has been an incredible year for video gaming. Honestly, aside from the trouble between Hideo Kojima and Konami, there’s been more focus on creating good games than cultivating spiteful drama.

I’m particularly proud that there’s been a lot of improvement on inclusiveness in 2015. There was also a lot of love for indie games. And most importantly, gaming publishers and developers are starting to understand that they have to meet fans’ expectations if they’re planning to create million dollar campaign promotions for their video games.

In my opinion, many 2015 games definitely delivered great experiences that matched the hype built around them. Fallout 4, Witcher 3: The Wild Hunt, Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain, Bloodborne, Just Cause 3, heck, even Assassin’s Creed: Syndicate was pretty good.

With that being said, these are the five games I’m looking forward to in 2016:

Rollercoaster Tycoon World

Really? Yes. Really. I’ve spent much of my childhood gaming hours on this game, in fact I’ve even continued playing RollerCoaster Tycoon 2 in college. (RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 never really appealed to me.) It came a bit of a shock to me when it was announced that RollerCoaster Tycoon lived on and would have a sequel in the near future. After all, Tycoon games aren’t really that popular anymore. Nonetheless, I’m excited for RollerCoaster Tycoon World, mainly because the new customization modes look more fun and easy to use.

Oddly enough, there is no specific date yet as to when in 2016 will this game be released. So I’m crossing my fingers that it actually does launch within the year.

Mirror’s Edge Catalyst

God I love Mirror’s Edge, and I’m glad that finally a sequel (or a prequel?) will be released soon. I barely remember the specifics of this game’s narrative, but the free-running was absolutely amazing. I could still remember my stomach dropping when switching from building to building. The action was pretty intense, too. Facing armed guards wearing tough armor with no weapons is a difficult task at times. But Mirror’s Edge’s combat was smooth, fluid, and almost felt like Faith’s punches and kicks were an art form I had to master to progress in the game.

Faith will return on May 24.

Overwatch 

Overwatch could be the coolest MMO game I’ve seen in a really long time. In a world where a lot of video game shooters are now taking the online route, Overwatch is a less serious breath of fresh air. And as this is being developed by Blizzard Games, I expect a lot of good things from it. But there was a time where I was pretty good at shooter games, as they were one of the only things I played in high school. And while I’m pretty terrible at them now, my nubile skills will not deter me from giving this cool and fun game a shot.  Not even when everyone else drowns me in the trash talk.

Overwatch will be open to everyone supposedly within the first half of 2016.

Quantum Break

Quantum Break looks like it has an epic story prepared for gamers. Then again, if you have heavy celebrities cast in your game, you really SHOULD have a great story to tell. What initially drew me to Quantum Break is their idea of using time manipulation as a mechanic and a subject for its narrative. There aren’t many games I can think of that tackle time. It should be interesting to see how this is all going to unfold in the near future.

Quantum Break will be released on April 5

Mass Effect: Andromeda

I’ve been a huge fan of BioWare ever since Dragon Age. You could even blame my blogging hiatus on Dragon Age: Inquisition. I’ve spent countless hours just exploring each narrative branch and trying out different characters to romance them with companions and advisors. Mass Effect on the other hand, hasn’t received much love from me as it’s been a part of my gaming backlog for a long time. I guess I was never really completely interested enough to invest my time into finishing at least one game. Mass Effect: Andromeda should take care of that. There’s still a lot of mystery surrounding this new sequel but I’m glad I would have another chance at the series, so I’ll definitely be picking it up as soon as it’s released.

Mass Effect: Andromeda will be out during the Holiday season.

 

On the off chance that you’re interested in reading about more games to look forward to in 2016, I recommend you check out the list I’ve come up with for Rappler: Looking forward: 11 highly anticipated games of 2016. 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

