Earlier this year I expressed my reluctance to get the latest Assassin’s Creed game. But since I still consider it a staple game of mine, I got it on the release anyway. I haven’t finished the game yet but it seems to me that Ubisoft has this weird pattern with their AC Series. A bad game will be released first and a good game will follow suit. AC: Syndicate falls on the latter.

I don’t think it’s too soon to judge the game as a good one either, because this is clearly better than AC: Unity. As expected, they’ve built a tremendously detailed setting for the game. While I’m not a historian, it’s quite clear that Ubisoft nailed their portrayal of London during the industrial revolution. I especially love the fact that you can ride on trains and play GTA with the carriages. In addition, Evie and Jacob are incredibly fun to watch. Their sibling rivalry, suave, and jokes are exactly what I needed after the introduction of their more serious predecessors.

It’s enough to motivate me to keep playing the game and see it to the end. And I’m not just going to rush through it like I did with the earlier games, I’m going to take my time and experience everything interesting that I find in Syndicate.

Some are saying that this is better than Brotherhood, or Assassin’s Creed 2, which is a lot considering how incredibly made those two games were years ago. But I’ll stay mum on my final judgement until I actually finish the game.

Speaking of the past though, I’m relieved to find that Rebecca and Shaun are back. These two are the only reasons why I wanted to get back to the “present day” as much as I can. It’s not clear to me why they’re back though, but I did love their little stunts in the early game. But I hope we get to see what they’ve achieved since Desmond’s passing.

Overall, I’m glad that Ubisoft was able to bring back the best features of Assassin’s Creed’s roots while incorporating them with brand new mechanics, weapons, and characters.

Why not check out my full first impressions article on Rappler, here? First impressions – Assassin’s Creed: Syndicate.

Also, if you’re wondering if Assassin’s Creed: Syndicate still has ridiculous bugs. I managed to encounter two weird ones and “exposed them” on this video:

Leave a Reply

