After another hiatus, I’m back. Again. Hopefully this time though, I won’t falter.

While it’s a tradition for many to talk about the winners and losers of E3,  I’ve already had my winners and losers list published on Rappler earlier this week, so for this post, I want to talk about the key blood-pumping, and head-turning games that make me want to get on a time machine and skip the next couple of months.

Final Fantasy VII the remake

“Are you kidding me right now?”

That’s the first thing I blurted out when the trailer started playing. Of course. I mean, Square Enix duped us once already a couple of months ago. We thought we were going to get an actual remake, but instead we only got a PS4 port. Then in comes Sony, bringing up this “painful” topic and surprises us with a legit remake. So, no. Sony does not troll their fans.

Obviously, it’s going to take a long time for Final Fantasy VII to come out (it turns out the director had no idea he was going to direct the game until fairly recently). So I’m thinking we will have to wait for around two or three years before we get a release date. I have no idea why the announcement was made on Sony though. The game will not even be exclusively available to PlayStation. From what I gather from the trailer, Final Fantasy VII will be a timed exclusive for PlayStation. At one point or another, the remake is going to reach PC and/or Xbox, much like Rise of the Tomb Raider, only this mini-win is for the PlayStation. Considering the rep of Square Enix after what they did a few months ago, they should have been the one to break the news.

But I digress. And actually I take back my previous statement. I don’t want to use a time machine to skip the next couple of months, I want to skip the next couple of years until this game comes out.

Mirror’s Edge Catalyst

Well, maybe that last paragraph was an overstatement. Mirror’s Edge Catalyst is coming out 2016 and I don’t want to skip this release at all. I’ve waited for this game for a couple of years now and from the reviews of those who played the demo it seems like Mirror’s Edge Catalyst is shaping up to be the game I’ve always wanted it to be: a beautifully designed game with fluid parkour movements, more space to play, and a more compelling narrative.

I have no doubts that I will be picking this game up the moment it is placed on the shelves. And if there are pre-order perks, I might just go ahead and fall prey to it. For now, I’m confident that this Mirror’s Edge will be worth all that time and money.

Dishonored 2

Another game that a lot of people have been waiting for is Dishonored 2 and its trailer looks incredibly beautiful. The narration style sorta reminds me of Fable and the aesthetics look like an upgraded version of Dragon Age Inquisition.

More than just the graphics though, I was instantly attracted to the character. It’s not just because the character is a woman (I believe it was mentioned that you can choose between two genders here). It’s more because of the character’s interesting abilities and a seemingly compelling back story.

To be honest, I haven’t played Dishonored but I do have a general gist of it. It’s a game I’ve always wanted to play but it was unfortunately at the back of my priority list (limited resources suck). Now though, it looks like I’m going to have to play catch up and really immerse myself in the world of Dishonored before the sequel is finally released.

Fallout 4

This one is a given. I mean, it’s been what? Six? Seven years of waiting? Yes, we’ve already seen the trailer prior to the conference, but seeing it announced on the E3 stage and hearing Bethseda talk about it more just gave me the goosebumps.

Compared to most gamers, I’ve played Fallout 3 for a relatively short time. Much like Dishonored, I never owned a copy of Fallout. However, I have played it on someone else’s computer and I’ve watched tons of Fallout 3 footage from my favorite Youtubers. It was a lot of fun going around (and watching others go around) the open world nuclear wasteland. I never bought it because other games came out and those were my priorities (again, limited sources suck). Still, just like other great games, I had a longing to play it. Now, with the official announcement of Fallout 4, I’m looking forward to experiencing Fallout as much as I can and enjoy it to the fullest.

Evie Frye/Assassin’s Creed Syndicate

I know I gave Assassin’s Creed some flak before, but bear with me on this. For the first time in quite a long time, this next Assassin’s Creed game looks promising and it’s all because of the new female lead, Evie. She looks like the better character to play if you’re a stealth combat fan and I feel like Jacob has been on the spotlight for too long that I already know his capabilities.

Evie looks way better despite the brief character introduction. Her outfit, her skills, her design, and even her personality is seemingly more attractive than Jacob’s.

I’d like to quote my friend on just how amazing we think Evie is:  “I think we found the one assassin who can beat Ezio.” Now we’re not entirely sure if she does have the charisma of one of our favorite assassins, but she sure looks like she has the deadly grace of our beloved Ezio.

I am begging to the higher powers that be that this does not take a turn for the worse and end up with Evie being a minor character that we barely get to play.

Unravel

Even if we were only given mere glimpses of the game, I already love Unravel. If you’ve watched EA’s show, you probably know why. Creative Director Martin Sahlin did the introductions and he is, by far, my favorite person from all E3 shows.

The way he speaks about his game and his main character Yarnie is just so heartwarming. You can feel how much he just loves his creation and how genuinely happy he is that he can finally introduce the game to the world.

You rarely see figures in E3 as sincere and as passionate about games as Martin. It feels like he doesn’t even belong on E3, yet it is people like him that we need more on the expo.

Sincere, honest, and passionate developers who just want to bring their ideas to life and share it with gamers, those are the people we need to see more of on E3.

There you have it, my list of games to look forward to after E3. Do you have other games in mind that I should take a look at? Drop me a comment and let’s start a conversation.

Want to know my list of winners and losers of E3? Check this article. 

Leave a Reply

