And the plot finally thickens. I admit I somewhat lost interest for this game over the holidays because it felt like it was going the same direction as the old Assassin’s Creed games that starred Ezio. Find a killer, then another lead, then another, then get to the grand master. Turns out, there’s a lot more to handle for Arno Victor Dorian.

Assassins-Creed-Unity-Arno

The game so far…

Perhaps all that I can comment on the game is the plot. I believe I’ve taken note of all the things I’ve noticed in the game, gameplay wise and mechanics wise. As I pushed through the game I realized that Arno is actually more emotional than I thought. I’m not saying this is a bad thing but it does make an interesting turn of events. I prefer that rather than have another bland Assassin.

Ubisoft really pushed for an actual romantic pairing, and it’s a breath of fresh air. In general, it is a little Romeo and Juliet cliche, but it’s deeper in detail and it actually is quite complicated. I did want to see a better execution on revealing Arno’s emotions and inner conflict. But I guess, I will let the little things slide.

The Brotherhood as well is a little more exciting and intriguing than usual. They aren’t exactly at peace with each other and the same can be said about the Templars. There’s a lot of betrayal and a lot of charged up feelings on allegiances. The build up could have been better, but again… it’s just the little things.

Plot wise this could actually be a meaningful game. But it does have its loose ends. This is somewhat to be expected since this is Assassin’s Creed.

In the real world however, the plot is still annoying. Not much action going on outside, and I’ve been itching to find out what happened after the events in the last game. Am I just supposed to accept the fact that Ubisoft did away with Shaun and Rebecca?

It’s frustrating, but I’m still holding out.

What I expect in the next progression

  • Hoping for a better build up of heavier things for Arno to deal with
  • Still holding out for Shaun and Rebecca or at least a decent continuation of the real world plot line
  • There’s probably more to uncover within the group of Assassins and Templars
  • More annoying “portal” moments
Leave a Reply

