Welcome to the first installment of my progressive reviews for Assassin’s Creed Unity. Essentially, this would be my first impressions post. I’ve finished the first two sequences and so far, I feel like this game is off to a good start.

Arno-Assassins-Creed-Unity1

I need no hype to convince me to pre-order an Assassin’s Creed sequel. The game is basically one of my staples. It’s not to say that I don’t see the faults and frustrations of some Assassin’s Creed games, it’s just that it has hooked me since it’s first installment and I’ve never regretted buying all the other games as well. With that being said, I’ve ignored the hype and started playing the game with the same neutral expectations I’ve had for all the previous games.

The game so far…

It really pays to enter into a situation with that kind of mindset, because Assassin’s Creed: Unity’s first two sequences show that the game is indeed, promising.

The graphics and detailing are gorgeous. Technically, there were odd frame jumps, but nonetheless, the game looks lovely. Because I got the game a little later than the release date, I was already aware (and dreading) about the awful glitches documented by the gaming community. Thankfully though, I didn’t run into any major ones. It also seems like Ubisoft really committed themselves to the almost 1-to-1 ratio of Paris, because whole place is huge.

The fights are more fluid, but the initiations are still a little rocky. Something I wish Ubisoft would at least fix in this new game. Free-running just got more fun because of “Controlled descent” and the smoother animation as well.

Two more new mechanics are introduced as well. “Last known position” is a mechanic that basically tells us where the enemies will look once we get out of their sight. It makes stealth missions go more smoothly, but it also makes the game a little easier.

We can also customize our Assassin in terms of the loadout, skills, and boosts. I’m not a big fan of this because I’d like to figure out how Arno gained his skills and boosts but at the same time, it adds to the convenience and I no longer need to run to different areas to get the things I need. It also keeps my focus on the grand scheme of the story, I suppose.

Speaking of the story, you are thrust into action immediately and the character you’re controlling in the modern world becomes aware of the conflict between Templars and Assassin’s in the first fifteen minutes of the game.

Arno’s story rolls out quickly too, and it becomes an emotional roller coaster, fast. Though at first I expected him to be a French Ezio, Arno seems like a lovely and lively character, with a weirder and more unfortunate set of circumstances than our favorite Italian. He’s also madly in-love, so I expect a lot of romantic fanfictions to come out of this. (If the story ends well, I might peruse a few in my spare time.)

There’s also a weird bit in Arno’s initiation that reminds me too much of DMC, the rebooted game of Devil May Cry. I won’t spoil it for you, but if you also played the game, you’ll see what I mean.

Expectations for the next progression

  • Ubisoft just announced that they would fix the major bugs and glitches in the game, so I expect it would run more smoother and I wouldn’t encounter any major bugs in the future.
  • Skills and boosts will probably bother me as I am unprepared and unaware of the tasks that are to come in the next sequences. There will be struggle.
  • Usually, with the start of every Assassin’s Creed game we get to have an inkling of who are the people we are going to kill. This time, it seems as if we’re going to need a lot of investigation. I like where this is going and I hope it keeps up until mid-game.
  • If Ubisoft has decided to add some loving in Assassin’s Creed, I expect it will be more complex than Ezio’s love with Sofia.
  • I could see a nice long history lesson with the game. It seems as historically accurate as it can be and this would really irk conspiracy theorists.
  • More of a wish than an expectation, I really pray that Rebecca and Shaun will come back.
One thought on “Assassin’s Creed Unity: Progressive Reviews I

Leave a Reply

